# EEE201 Circuit Analysis II

Ankara University

Faculty of Engineering

**Electrical and Electronics Engineering Department** 

Ankara University Electrical and Electronics Eng. Dept. EEE201

## Sinusoidal Steady-State Power Calculations

EEE201 Circuit Analysis II

Lecture 5

## Agenda

- Instantaneous Power
- Average and Reactive Power
- The rms Value
- Complex Power

#### Instantaneous Power

$$v = V_m \cos(wt + \theta_v)$$

$$i = I_m \cos(wt + \theta_i)$$

$$i = V_m \cos(wt + \theta_i)$$

$$v = V_m \cos(wt + \theta_v - \theta_i)$$
 and  $i = I_m \cos(wt) \Rightarrow$ 

$$p = v \cdot i$$
  
=  $\frac{V_m I_m}{2} \cos(\theta_v - \theta_i) + \frac{V_m I_m}{2} \cos(\theta_v - \theta_i) \cos(2wt) - \frac{V_m I_m}{2} \sin(\theta_v - \theta_i) \sin(2wt)$ 

#### Average and Reactive Power

$$p = P + P\cos(2wt) - Q\sin(2wt)$$

Average power: 
$$P = \frac{V_m I_m}{2} \cos(\theta_v - \theta_i)$$
 (watt, W)

Reactive power: 
$$Q = \frac{V_m I_m}{2} \sin(\theta_v - \theta_i)$$
 (volt-amp reactive, VAR)

#### Average and Reactive Power

Power for **purely resistive** circuits ( $\theta_v = \theta_i$ )

 $p = P + P\cos(2wt)$ 

Power for **purely inductive** circuits ( $\theta_v - \theta_i = +90^\circ$ )

 $p = -Q\sin(2wt)$ 

Power for **purely capacitive** circuits ( $\theta_v - \theta_i = -90^\circ$ )

 $p = -Q\sin(2wt)$ 

#### Average and Reactive Power

Power factor:  $pf = \cos(\theta_v - \theta_i)$ 

Reactive factor:  $rf = sin(\theta_v - \theta_i)$ 

$$\theta_v > \theta_i \implies lagging \ power \ factor$$
  
 $\theta_v < \theta_i \implies leading \ power \ factor$ 

#### The rms Value (or Effective Value)

$$P = \frac{1}{T} \int_{t_0}^{t_0 + T} p \, dt = \frac{1}{T} \int_{t_0}^{t_0 + T} \frac{V_m^2 \cos^2(wt + \phi_v)}{R} \, dt$$
$$P = \frac{V_r^2 ms}{R}$$

$$V_m \cos(\omega t + \theta_v) \leqslant R$$

$$P = I_{rms}^2 R$$

#### **Complex Power**

S = P + jQ (volts-amps, VA)

$$\frac{Q}{P} = \tan \theta = \tan(\theta_v - \theta_i)$$



Apparent power:

$$|S| = \sqrt{P^2 + Q^2}$$
 (volts-amps, VA)

#### Reference

 Electric Circuits, Tenth Edition, James W. Nilsson, Susan A. Riedel Pearson, 2015