Fisheries Law and Regulations

Prof. Dr. Hasan Hüseyin ATAR

Prof. Dr. Hijran YAVUZCAN

 The Aquaculture Department of the DG for Fisheries and Aquaculture consists in three subdivisions: Marine Aquaculture, Inland Aquaculture, Aquaculture Economics and Marketing. It is assisted by the Project and Statistics Divisions in 81 of MoFAL's Provincial Directorates, as well as relevant sections in four Fisheries Research Institutes. The main responsibilities of the Department are:

- Producing and promoting policies for development of aquaculture.
- Designating sites, area and zone for aquaculture.
- Administering rental procedures for the sites.
- Administering licensing process and issuing fish farming licenses.
- Preparing and implementing projects.
- Controlling and monitoring fish farms.
- Providing technical and financial support.



 Apart from MoFAL, there are several ministries and institutions that are responsible for, among other things, site selection and the issuance of aquaculture licenses:

- Ministry of Environment and Urban Planning.
- Ministry of Forestry and Water Resources.
- Ministry of Culture and Tourism.
- Ministry of Economy.
- Ministry of Health: impact of aquaculture on public health, product hygiene.
- Ministry of Transport and Communication.
- General Commander's Office: military training or sensitive areas.
- Undersecretary of Foreign Trade: export of cultured fish.

 Furthermore, other ministries may have a significant role in fish farming on land, coast, and water, such as the Ministry of Environment and Urban Planning, the Ministry for Forestry and Water Resources and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.